Home > Quick Posts > Post Rettberg Chapter 2, Pre-Rettberg Chapter 3

Post Rettberg Chapter 2, Pre-Rettberg Chapter 3

As I am thinking about the reading for yesterday’s en3177 class, I cannot help but ponder about social networks since that’s what the third chapter of the text for the class.  I wanted to put out my short viewpoint prior to being influenced by the text.

Good or Bad?

I have had the conversation about whether or not Facebook is good or not.  The reason why we’ve had this conversation – or why I have had this conversation with so many people – is that our society has become so focused on the usage of social media.  We all agree that all though Facebook and Twitter have it’s perks, you loose the face-to-face interaction with your friends.  Yet, you get to keep up to date on what ever your friends are doing even if you don’t see them on a regular basis.

I personally think that Facebook is good, but I was able to keep up to date with my friends prior Facebook and cell phones.  So Facebook only makes it more easy to keep up to date with my friends.  Does that make it Good or Bad?

Categories: Quick Posts Tags:
  1. January 24, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    I think Facebook is a good form of social media because it allows a person to keep in contact with people they may not necessarily talk to every day(e.g. family member, distant friends, co workers). For example, I have many classmates added to my Facebook page and if I have a question about a homework assignment I can ask them directly in a post instead of not receiving the answer at all because of am not “good” friends with the person. Overall, I think social media sites in general are beneficial overall and have now become part of our daily lives.

    • Joe Vito Moubry
      January 25, 2012 at 12:09 pm

      I agree with you that they have there perks, but when college students post pictures of themselves drinking, this might hinder there chances of getting jobs.

  2. January 25, 2012 at 11:42 am

    Facebook is good but when you start to divulge too much of yourself then it becomes bad. I found a picture one time of a pregnant, young black girl and the caption read, “Still thinkin bout abortn dis.” So there you go.

    • Joe Vito Moubry
      January 25, 2012 at 12:07 pm

      Thanks. With how much people are willing to share is kind of scary in a sense.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

