Home > Quick Posts > Donuts Are an Easy Way to Explain Social Media

Donuts Are an Easy Way to Explain Social Media

Today, I was looking on my Facebook homepage feed and saw a photograph that showed different ways that people can convey the same message.  Or at the very least, the photograph showcases how people can share a message about one specific item on the different social media websites.

I first saw this photograph posted on my friend’s, Amanda Bardonner‘s Facebook page.  Since Bardonner – like so many other people – shared this picture, I figured I’d send it out via blog post since this semester in #en3177, we are taking a look at different social media websites.

I’m sure that the professor of this course at the University of Washington Information School isn’t exactly thrilled that their intellectual property has landed itself onto Facebook.  But at least the student who took this photo was back channeling, unless if it was the professor who took this photo.  Regardless of who posted this photograph, I have to wonder if intellectual property extends to something that someone posts onto their Twitter or Facebook accounts.

Back on January 25, 2012, I cited Rettberg’s 3rd Chapter from her book about how Facebook basically owns anything that’s posted on Facebook.  So there is that question that people have to ask themselves I think.

Categories: Quick Posts Tags:
  1. February 7, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    I remember a few years ago that many of my friends were up in arms on Facebook because they just found out that the contract (which they didn’t read but still checked the box saying “I have read and agreed to …”) basically gave Facebook the rights to any pictures or, more importantly, writing that they posted on the site. Now I here that is no longer part of the contract. But, what I wonder is if Facebook still has the rights to the short stories I ignorantly posted on my page five years ago before they made that change. Do I get my intellectual property back now that their policy has changed? For me it probably doesn’t make a lot of difference, I don’t intend to make a living off of my creative writing. But, I have friends who are in the same boat who might want to publish their stuff some day.

    • Joe Vito Moubry
      February 7, 2012 at 7:14 pm

      I would imagine that even with the Facebook policy change, anything that has been posted to Facebook belongs to them. Then I believe that anything posted after the policy change would belong to the person who posted it.

  1. February 6, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Leave a Reply

